These sirens are part of the Oakland County Early Weather Warning Program.
When the National Weather Service issues a tornado warning or a severe thunderstorm with damaging winds at or greater than 70 mph, the sirens are activated from the Oakland County Dispatch Center which is manned 24 hours a day.
Please be advised that Oakland County Emergency Management will be testing the outdoor warning siren system on the following dates in 2021:
 
March 6 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
March 24 Wednesday 1pm Special test in recognition of Severe Weather Awareness Week (SWAW)
April 3 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
May 1 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
June 5 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
July 3 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
August 7 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
September 4 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
October 2 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test
November 6 Saturday 1pm First Saturday of the month test


Note: Siren tests are not conducted during December, January, or February due to winter weather.